feature: DFCC Awards Winners at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival 2017

No Comment
feature: DFCC Awards Winners at the Audi Dublin International Film Festival 2017

For the last 5 years I’ve had the honour of being part of the Dublin Film Critics’ Circle awards jury for the Audi Dublin International Film Festival.

Each year myself and my colleagues, led by DFCC President Tara Brady from the Irish Times, watch as many movies as possible to bubble up the best of the best at DIFF – believe me when I say 100s of hours of movies are watched between us in the few short weeks before the festival.

The jury this year was comprised of Donald Clarke (The Irish Times), Gavin Burke (entertainment.ie), Paul Whittington (The Irish Independent), David Turpin (No More Workhorse), Brogen Hayes (Movies.ie), Jury President Tara Brady (The Irish Times) and err… Me. Nicola Timmins.

With this we’re proud to announce our choices this year, with thanks to ADIFF and Limelight Communications.

The DFCC Awards at the Audi Dublin Film Festival 2017

Best FilmAquarius
Best Actress – Florence Pugh, Lady Macbeth
Best Actor – Sherwan Haji, The Other Side of Hope
Best Director – Lav Diaz, The Woman Who Left
Best Cinematography – M. David Mullen, The Love Witch
Best Screenplay – Kristina Grozeva, Petar Valchanov, Glory
Best Irish FeatureHandsome Devil
Best Irish DocumentaryThe Farthest
Best DocumentaryI Am Not Your Negro
Jury Prize – Kristopher Avedisian, Donald Cried
Jury Prize – Daouda Coulibaly, Wùlu
Jury PrizeMy Life as a Courgette
Jury PrizeThe Transfiguration

George Byrne Maverick Award – Emer Reynolds

Michael Dwyer Discovery Award – Blue Teapot cast – Sanctuary

Many thanks to all involved, especially Grainne Humphreys, print transport manager Mary Burke, festival press officer Patrick Stewart and the sponsor of The DFCC Awards, Limelight Communications.

Here’s to doing it all again next year!

No Comments

Leave your comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top